FCCPTA Election Plan Spring 2020

Due to Stay At Home orders, FCCPTA will use GoToMeeting to conduct its regularly scheduled election at 7 p.m. May 6, 2020.

On March 12, 2020 the FCCPTA Nominating Committee announced its slate of candidates:

President, Kara Jenkins

Vice President – Outreach, Shawna Garrett

Vice President – Advocacy, La Guardia Myers

Vice President – Programs, Larry Mills

Vice President – Training, Hamid Munir

Vice President – Communications, Michelle Leete

Treasurer, Jaime Yarussi

Secretary, Brett Fox

More details can be found here.

As with any PTA election, PTA members may self-nominate for any position from the floor. In a virtual meeting format, interested members may self-nominate by contacting Council President Jane Miscavage, president@fccpta.org, no later than 7 p.m. on May 4.

On May 5, FCCPTA will email eligible voters* with a link to the GoToMeeting and access code.

On May 6, FCCPTA Nominating Committee Chair Jason Morgan will present the Nominating Committee report. We will then proceed with the election in one of two ways:

  • If there are no self-nominations, we will ask meeting participants to vote yes or no for the slate. This will be a voice vote in the live GoToMeeting teleconference.
  • If there are nominations “from the floor,” we will hold a voice vote on all non-contested positions. For the contested position, each candidate will be asked to speak for two minutes about his/her qualifications. Afterward all eligible voters will be asked to submit the name of their preferred candidate via private chat to our teller (this is a function within GoToMeeting).

*Each PTA in good standing is allowed to have two members vote on Council business. If PTA presidents are unable to participate we ask for a designee, who must be a current PTA member from a PTA in good standing. To verify voters, and to prevent online meeting hacks (such as the “Zoom Bomb”) FCCPTA will send an election registration to presidents of PTAs in good standing and ask them to register. A meeting link and password will then be sent to each registrant.